Skip to content

Troop 714 History

Boy Scouts of America
Troop 714

48 years and still going strong!!!

Troop 714 is a unit in the Foothills District of the Atlanta Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America. Mr. William C. Newton Jr. first chartered the troop on May 5, 1966 with the charter organization of Vandiver Heights Homeowners Association, Mountain View School. Today we are chartered through Mountain View United Methodist Church. Mr. Tom Ogletree was the first Scoutmaster of the troop. Today we are under the leadership of Mr. Ferrell Moultrie, whose son became an Eagle under the leadership of the troop.

The troop’s first Eagle Scout was recognized in 1975. We can proudly proclaim that last year the troop has now added well over 100 additional Eagles to that roster. The coming years look just as promising!

Today the troop is 60-70 members strong and growing through the addition of members from Cub Scout packs soon to join our family in the coming months. This growth is nurtured through the dedication of the 50+ adult leaders of the troop who work tirelessly to help the boys have a memorable experience of learning through respect and fellowship.

The troop is very active with troop meetings every Monday evening. The boys enjoy the outdoors through camping, hiking, backpacking, and canoeing. These activities range from the patrol level to those organized by the district and council. More detail of these activities are shared on our web site.

We support our charter organization through service and fellowship. Some of the current projects are: Bethlehem Walk security, lunch program for the MUST ministry, collecting food for the Scouting for Food campaign, and the annual Scout Sunday celebration!

Known history of Scoutmaster service to Troop 714:

  • Tom Ogletree – May, 1966 to ?
  • Mr. Fields – ? – ?
  • T.O. (Theron) Collier, Jr. – circa 1983 to ?
  • Unknown
  • Ed Delafuente – ? to 1991
  • Don Dodge – 1991 to 1992
  • Greg Knight – 1992 to Sept. 1996
  • Sam Johnson – Sept. 1996 to May 1998
  • Tom Bulger – May 1998 to May 2001
  • John England – May 2001 to May 2002
  • Ferrell Moultrie – May 2002 to Present